Surrounded by Serenity & Reflection: The Essence of a New Year Embodied in My First Day of 2013


First day of 2013

Gorgeous vista on the Bighorn Mine Trail

I always like to follow my own traditions and create new ways for celebrating that resonate with me. This year was no exception and having already felt like I had fully celebrated my idea of Christmas and the New Year while in Bimini just days before the holidays, I was feeling quite complete and ready to start integrating some of my inner journey that will hit come my birthday this year on February 26th, as I enter a #7 personal year in numerology.

I’ve consistently found that I am a couple months ahead in starting to integrate and process the next year’s energy right before it actually hits, always experiencing literal shifts that start to trickle in, as I put to closure the previous year’s energy.

Me on the Bighorn Mine Trail

For me, the trip in Bimini was closure to many things, as well as the beginning of a new journey. I foresee the promise of much beauty for all, as we enter a new cycle of our collective journey.

Violet energy surrounding a light orb

Moving into a 7 personal year promises to bring more deep reflection, introspection, contemplation, meditation, pause, and time spent exploring life’s deeper truths and how these convey through my actions. This seems perfectly aligned with how I have been feeling after quite a full year of experiences, focused work, and an integration of Yang that brought trials and tribulations and Yin that through embracing the process and doing the work, created a sense of harmonious peace within.

Glowing light orb as it moves from the violet

#7 years provide opportunity to come to a greater awareness of your full potential and to honor and understand when personal time is needed to be within one’s own experience or in quiet activities. A time for letting things come to you, realizing the power of intents and the foundations of hard work invested, so as to experience thoughts and ideas materializing now from all your efforts. Definitely it’s a time for gaining greater insight, efficiency, and powerful centeredness, to fully understand and experience the full circle of being alone, without every being or feeling lonely. In general, gaining depth of understanding, refinement of skills and talents, knowing when to withdraw or free yourself from outside responsibilities to find the balance needed for wholeness and inner peace, and a time when integrating clear thoughts are at a high. Cultivating these skills will produce valuable results.

Each birthday cycle we all enter a new personal year that carries with it the energy of the number it corresponds to numerologically, as well as do we collectively enter a new year of shared experiences at the birth of each New Year. I shared a bit about the collective #6 year we are entering in yesterday’s post on Reiki Workshops that support the energy of 2013.

As 2012 neared end, I was already feeling the shift into this more reflective mode and the need to bring in even more within time to myself or away from the outside world, so as to hone in on truly integrating and bringing fullness and depth to all that is being cultivated right now with my soul integration experience. Really honoring the need to balance the energies and what the body and soul desires to be of greatest benefit to it (being mindful of where to place focus and energy), is not only reflective of my personal 7 year I’m moving into, but is truly the way we are all moving into needing to learn to understand and honor to reach great potentials.

Of course this inner journey reflects through the type of work I will be focusing on and how that work also manifests, including the way things will come through me in the process – all really resulting in a deepening experience all around and the need to sit with the quietness in order to receive what wants to be shared and how. Definitely a tapping in to Source with greater conscious presence, as there are always unlimited ways to further our experiences. Sometimes I am able to be amidst tons of outer things and be fine, as the energy calls for that, but now there will be a weighing of what works best with the energy currents I am experiencing both inside and in mirror of the collective Earth’s energy, so reflection and recharging will become more prevalent.

Small light orb has now moved to base of left tree

Interestingly, this is the year I am feeling called to Tibet, which chimes perfectly in tune with my energy vibrations. On New Year’s day, I felt like the experience chosen to have, to honor the first of 2013, was in direct alignment with all that I’m expressing and what I am preparing for in Tibet.

Welcoming in the first day of the New Year immersing in the serenity and purity of the snow at Mt. Baden Powell was a beautiful way to kick start things. It was perfect and magickal to get away from everything in the mountains and be with the stillness that surrounded both within and without. Dave and I drove up to the San Gabriel Mountains to an area south-west of the town of Wrightwood with a packed picnic lunch of raw vegan goodies for the day and set out on a two mile trail that scaled the mountain side and then trekked another 4 miles in the snow on the Bighorn Mine Trail, perched at 7,000 feet, where we explored some old gold mines dating back to the early to mid 1890’s.

Bighorn Mine – notice sort of a rainbow energy coming from the mine shaft hole to the right

Bighorn Mile Trail: The trail starts in the Vincent Gap Parking lot, along with the Mine Gulch Trail. Soon after the start, the Mine Gulch Trail drops down into Vincent Gulch while the Bighorn Mine Trail continues around the side of Mt Baden Powell. Less than half way through the trail there is a mining tunnel on the side of the mountain, right on the trail. As you continue around the side of the mountain, eventually you will hit the main Bighorn Mine, which has mining structures and tunnels. This area is rich in history, as mining played a role in the past of the town of Wrightwood. The mine itself is closed off, however the views from this area are amazing as you peer over Mine Gulch, down toward the San Gabriel River Basin (East Fork). Like most places in the Sheep Mountain Wilderness, you can also see Pine Mountain, Dawson Peak, Mt Baldy, Iron Mountain, Blue Ridge, and Pine Mountain Ridge.

Rainbow energy inside the mine now – do you think there’s a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow they are leading me to? Certainly felt to be elves and faeries present on this hike

The first mine is closed off with a little flow of water coming from it. The second is no longer fully closed off, as a hole has been created large enough to climb inside and so we did indeed explore the first section of it where there is also some water run off. Enter at your own risk! Getting to this area in the snow was quite a trek and with areas of very narrow trail, snow and ice, with steep drop off on one side, it definitely is one to take with great care and patience, but well worth it for the serenity, majestic views, and to visit this old mine cradled in the side of the mountain.

There was indeed a presence of energy felt on this day and in and around the second mine, which showed up in a few of the photos. (See photo captions and click on each photo to enlarge for detail). The experiences and photos really seemed to tell the energetic tale of what I feel to come and what I received in my annual New Year’s Eve tarot reading share trade 😉

The signs are clear, the support is there, the foundational work has been laid, the commitments and responsibility embraced….This trek on the Bighorn trail was very reflective of my current journey, the orbs of support met along the way, both the ease and some of the integrated challenges still to come, and the destination of the gold mine at rainbow’s end, was a beautiful message of continued trust, gratitude, and patience, for all things are coming together beautifully in the bigger picture of creation.

Always grateful for the supportive guidance and love experienced, felt, and making itself known.

On the way home we were detoured through the Mojave Desert, which lies on one side of the mountain. It was definitely the out-of-the-way longer route home, but seemed to add to the energy of patient reflection and being able to take in the desert and mountain experience.

Red orb energy with something inside it showing up next to me inside the mine looking towards the opening

Same vantage point looking towards the opening of the mine with no red orb

The day was a beautiful experience within, reminding me of my beloved Lake Tahoe home I miss and how much I love to “be” in the stillness of nature’s beauty, as well as how much I love and thrive at high altitudes. Another foreshadowing of my soul connection to Tibet and how much I enjoyed trekking in the high altitudes of Peru up to 15,000 feet and living at the glacial, crystalline, and alpine lake of Tahoe.

It was the perfect way to experience and honor the new energy of 2013 and to anchor in the integration of a new experience personally and collectively.

I hope you all spent the welcoming of 2013 in your own sacred way. ♥ It is going to be a beautiful year.

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on January 3, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Mari Braveheart-Dances

    Oh, Beloved Sister – What a beautiful journey and how thoughtful to share it with others in this way. Yes, this year is full of magickal portals and possibilities. I feel it strongly, much like the energy orbs you share with us here. At times it is quite a rush, this energy awareness and sharing. May your path continue to be blessed, as I know it will be, and may loving spirits tenderly care for you as you walk.

    much love, mari

  2. Magical! I love all the photos. It’s wonderful how photos are showing more and more what sensitives already sense. Nice affirmations! Love to you in this New Year … xoxo

    • totally! i agree wholeheartedly on that. so nice to be able to share the reality we have been feeling and experiencing for everyone now to explore and take in. i am always excited to go through photos i take and see what shows up, as it is increasingly happening more than ever now.

      love and BIG hugs to you too! xoox HAPPY Year!

  3. My name is Joan. I don’t know you or your work. I am drawn to some kind of message speaking to me through your words. I feel I am being pulled on a light/energy-seeking journey. I have just left employment for the repeated reason of managing depression. I am seeking, yet I don’t know what or how to go about it. I feel I need to creatively express my spirit, but I am unclear how. There is an event unfolding in front of me, for me, in me…that’s all I know. But YOU have spoken specifically to ME. Do you have a message for me? A direction? I got to your blog through a FB post. You are a marking post for me on my journey and I feel you are meant to tell me something that will lead me to the next marker pointing the way. Don’t know if this seems silly to you or you’ve heard it before…Please help if you can and thank you.
    I am trying to heal, discover my true being, point the way for others, even though I am yet in the dark.

    • hi joan, thank you for connecting and for sharing so vulnerably from your heart. synchronicity always has a way of divinely aligning experiences doesn’t it? so no, what you share is not at all silly to me. i do understand what you mean and what you are going through. i am sorry to hear of your recent challenges and yet you are not alone in what you are feeling and going through, as there is much change at hand collectively that expresses in relative ways to each. it sounds like you are at the brink of some major break throughs and in your heart you know you have much to share with others, once you are able to fully see, honor, embrace and nurture the light you shine yourself. sometimes the hardest things can be shifted by simple changes of perspectives. sometimes those shifts are best supported by those with the gifts to help you to bring out your own. and in these times, to ask for help is a strength and very courageous. if you are in need of assistance, i can help to point the way to someone who may be able to assist, if it is not within my capacity to do so. my email is tania@taniamarie.com if you feel called to connect more. much love to you

Leave a Reply

