Reverence for Rabbits & All Living Creatures – The Greatest Gift at Easter is Sharing the Heart of Compassion


Let us remember that animals are not mere resources for human consumption. They are splendid beings in their own right, who have evolved alongside us as co-inheritors of all the beauty and abundance of life on this planet. ~Marc Bekoff

animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-11

Photo by Elena Shumilova

Most people know that I am a huge animal lover and that my life is driven by living in reverence to all of life and in loving compassion to all creatures, great and small. You may also know that I have a special place in my heart for rabbits.

A few nights ago I was sharing about my connection with rabbits, as I was reflecting on Easter time and how rabbits are such a huge symbol of this day and Spring, but also experience the sad results of it.

Easter RabbitI find it quite profound that rabbits are the brunt end of so much violence and sadness, as they are killed for their fur, for their meat as food, are one of the animals hugely experimented on and tortured for “science” and for things such as cosmetics, are the third most euthanized animals after dogs and cats, end up abandoned, in shelters, or let loose in the wild unable to fend for themselves after their “cuteness” wears off (Easter time especially), or die short lives because of people not being educated on proper rabbit care and their delicate physiology. The majority of veterinarians are not even educated to treat them properly (a fact, as well as something I experienced with my rabbits). Rabbits are simply widely misunderstood because they take intuitive care and attention since they haven’t a voice like other animals that can meow or bark, are generally more docile and easily over-powered, and will simply retreat when something is wrong.

I cherish all animals and communicate with them daily, but for whatever reason since I was young, rabbits have been one of the amazing beings on this Earth that I have a special bond with and that I feel to be a voice for.

Tej3Every Easter, I sponsor a rabbit, or two, from the shelter where my bunny love, Joy Julianna, and I connected. This year I was instantly drawn to one bunny that stole my heart and I’ve been thinking of her ever since laying my eyes upon her photos.

Her name is Tej and she is a special needs bunny. I do not know her story, of how she came to be as you see her, but I have put in an inquiry to the shelter to find out more about her and her condition. I cried the instant I saw her, and felt such a bond with her. If Tejshe can’t be with me physically, I’ll be supporting her as I can energetically and in sponsorship.

If these dear ones call to your heart, perhaps you might help with a small donation, fostering, home, volunteering, or at least help to educate others that rabbits are not objects of amusement, but tender and intelligent beings that deserve our love.

Tej2You can give here and even choose a rabbit you’d like to sponsor at this nationally recognized rabbit rescue and non-profit organization: 

Donate to the Rabbits at SaveABunny

Or, at the least, when thinking about Easter today and what to share with your children, share the heart of compassion and reverence for all living beings and for the beauty of living in harmony with Nature. This will have great impact for all beings that walk this Earth with us.

Here’s a good article on reasons NOT to give a rabbit as an Easter gift:

Reasons Not To Give A Bunny As An Easter Gift

Let us deepen the reach of our hearts to extend to all beings gifting our lives with their precious souls.

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on April 20, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ascension Angels

    Reblogged this on Ascension Angels and commented:
    Thank you for enlightening us with this Tania Marie 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Tania Marie's Blog and commented:

    This is a post I shared 3 years ago, but the message is important to me to share again with Easter approaching. I’ve continued to receive messages and reflections of my path with rabbits, and have had several large impactful signs in the last couple of weeks that impress upon me why I feel the guiding force to share these messages based on things taking place collectively. Although when I posted this, I supported Tej that year with a donation, this year my support will take on a different manifestation. More on that to come. May we all experience a return to harmony within and without.

Leave a Reply

