My Sacred Tattoo Symbolism – A Triple Rabbit, Full Moon, Ogham & Cosmic Vortex Portal


tattoo4-horzToday I was inspired to share a bit more on my last sacred tattoo (as promised) that I had created on my skin a couple of months ago. It felt like a good time, given my rabbit companion, Joy (who is one of the 3 depicted rabbits in it), has been going through some energetic stuff since yesterday and it feels connected to shifts and portal openings.

I love all of my tattoos, but this one is extra special to me for invoking the intended energy I desire to embody.

The image is of the triple rabbit symbolism, but in a more organic design with each rabbit having a unique personality and otherworldly/human quality. They are layered over a Full Moon, which they are circling round, and that is spinning out of a Cosmic Vortex, exploding with tiny magickal stars. And inside the center sits a sacred Ogham tree letter that holds layered meaning as well.

All of my tattoos are done in black and shades of gray, but this is the only tattoo that we added white to, which resonated when my tattoo artist asked what I thought of that. This is a special piece in many ways so pixie-dusting it was just the touch of enchantment it needed.

As I mentioned in my previous post when I first revealed this tattoo, the area where it now lives and breathes had also shown up in a dream sequence experience where I had received an implant underneath the skin that felt to be preparing the energy. Interestingly, the implant was a shiny silver-shaped disk, which would mirror the shape of the Full Moon that now resides there.

I won’t be able to explain all of the meaning this has for me and how I use it, however I can share about some of the elements of the design symbolism, which will give an insight to its energy. Of course the placement on the right arm also has its meaning and it wonderfully balances my left arm, Magick Dragon with Runes and Pentacle. But for now here’s an exploration of the design symbolism of my last sacred tattoo.

The Triple Rabbits Symbolism:

I realized how perfect the Triple Rabbit Symbol was for me, even more than just the connection and resonance I’ve had with it for some time now, when I realized I have had 3 Rabbit friends in this life. I had always loved and been drawn to the symbol and would have loved to have it tattooed on me, but didn’t know if it would actually come to be, as I follow the energetic guidance I feel when getting new tattoos. I actually thought I was done tattooing myself on my last tattoo, but I was gifted this symbolism I have held dear for a long time, as my celebratory closure. Indeed a gift! The three Rabbits I have had in this life included, Twinkie – the first and only had him for a summer when I was about 12 years old. He is the only male animal companion I’ve personally ever had. Then there was of course Nestor, and now Joy.

The Triple Rabbits (or sometimes known as the Triple Hares) are so powerful and represent the Trinity. Each of the ears are shared by two Rabbits, but only three ears are shown.

Rabbits are symbolic of rebirth, luck, prosperity, creativity, quick-thinking, self-sacrifice, high fertility of mind, body, and emotion, agility, receptiveness, and speed, to name a few things. They herald a kind of waking life resurrection and a realization of increased vitality, energy, or a new-found excitement over life. Creativity is also a form of fertility and of ripening, fresh ideas so Rabbits can bring a message of nurturing your intuitive impulses and nudges from your heart and soul.

Rabbits/Hares are powerfully profound in their transmutational energies. The Ancients found them one of the most mysterious and perplexing beings, thought to be hermaphrodites (male one month and female the next), with powers of self-impregnation. Since they reflect the idea of balance between masculine and feminine they are highly regarded as sacred, mediators of the sacred, and embodying actual creative powers of the Universe.

Rabbits are also associated with the Moon, lunar cycles, and cyclical life, are considered creatures of fire – the “Sacred Fire” that is the same regenerative fire of the Phoenix – thus destruction and recreation of the heart of all life. They are connected with the dawn, enlightenment, Spring, the Cosmic Egg from which the Cosmos is produced, and embody balance, creative potency, eternity, androgyny, genius, and inspiration.

Moon Symbolism:

And speaking of the Moon, she has her own amazing energy and symbolism that adds to this magickal piece I wear on my skin. I have the Moon also represented over my Heart Chakra on my back, depicted by the Mayan Moon Goddess, Ix Chel, with her consort the Rabbit. This design just so happened to turn out to look like me when it was created, which was great as it was to represent myself and Nestor. But it was a symbolic depiction of the Moon rather than an actual representation.

Now I have both. 🙂

The Moon is considered a luminary, although produces no light of her own. She reflects the Sun’s light, which mirrors her image to us. In this way of projecting light, she symbolizes the subtlety of how we may gain clarity and indirectly receive insight, and how we can soften our gaze to access esoteric meaning.

The Moon also symbolizes cycles, the shadow, mystery, wonder, balance, renewal, time, emotions, the subconscious, intuition, fertility, femininity, transition, passivity, perception, receptivity, the night, nocturnal creatures, illumination…She is connected to the element of Water (mother of all sea creatures as well) and is ruled by the sign of Cancer.

Alchemical teachings share that the Moon is connected to Silver, which carries the symbolism of clarity, purity and brilliance that the Moon so beautifully exudes. Since Silver is one of the 3 metals that are the foundation of the Prima Materia, this makes the Moon part of the Trinity of transformation.

She is also associated with Kuan Yin, the Virgin Mary, Thoth, Diana, Artemis, and Hecate, to name a few of her archetype associations.

Full Moon Symbolism:

Each of her Phases (which represent immortality and eternity) also have significance and being that my tattoo depicts a Full Moon, I will just concentrate on that symbolism here which includes new beginnings, our wholeness, self-realization coming full circle, bringing things to light, releasing what no longer serves you, restoration, good for receiving the fullness of your creative abundance, being at the height of your personal power, experiencing illuminated clarity, and the ability to manifest dreams and intentions.

Ogham Tree Letter Symbolism:

I was first going to have a full word written out to represent “Rabbit” in Ogham, but it wouldn’t work with the design. It was meant to invoke further, the energy incited. I then realized that it was because a more potent and multi-layered symbolism was meant to replace it, and through synchronous research, was led to how that was to unfold.

I started researching the connection of “Rabbits” with Ogham and Celtic symbolism, which is what felt to resonate for this arm, also given I wear Gaelic and Ogham on my right forearm (the same arm) connected with Nestor (my beloved and departed Rabbit companion before Joy). It led me to the information explaining its roots and symbolic “wisdom of the trees”. Then I read that there are animals closely related to each tree of the Ogham.

And then it hit me that the actual tree/letter would be more magickal, and not only that….it would perfectly fit into the design at center! I love how that works. 😉

So the symbol in the middle of the Rabbits and at center of the Full Moon of my design is the Ogham for the tree Gorse/Ohn/Onn – or “O” which resides there. Gorse is connected to the planet Venus and the element of Earth.

I found that Rabbits are connected to Gorse (sometimes called Furze) or Ohn/Onn – the letter “O”. The Gorse bush interestingly is associated with the Sun, because of its yellow flowers full of nectar and pollen that open in March around the time of Spring Equinox with a very long flowering season) and is associated with the color yellow gold. I found its association with the Sun interesting, almost like that wholeness and integration of duality, since Rabbits are connected with the Moon, and yet are also connected to Gorse/Sun.

This, to me, feels like coming full circle, just as Rabbits run full circle with the Moon’s cycle (and running around the Moon literally on my arm lol). And it’s also like how they are hermaphrodites and birth the cosmic egg – both male and female. It also represents that coming to self-realized wholeness, which the Full Moon also symbolizes – a perfect closing tattoo to my “Spiritual Skin” indeed.

And here’s a bit more on the symbolism of Gorse:

Light, vibrancy, protection (Gorse has thorns), intelligence, independence, industry.. are just some of the words for it. Gorse is considered a “light seeker” of the higher road by the Druids and is opportunistic (associated with the Bee) as well as creates distance in order to begin a new colony that is free to have more sun without crowding – hence independent and that leaping out (like Rabbits do) on our own to create/blaze our own trail away from conformity.

This “Bee” association is particularly of interest, as a few weeks I had come home to find a swarm of Bees inside the house all congregating at the windows and sliding glass doors. Later to find that a hive was in the chimney and these Bees were likely relocating their colony, but somehow decided to swarm inside the house rather than leave the way they had come in. Yes, a powerful symbolism to have them in my personal space and experience, and quite symbolic of creating a “new, freer, and more illuminated” life. It also speaks to making sure our inner energy is blooming even when the external environment is bleak.

Gorse is a determined plant that always comes back – which represents perseverance and hope – two things I have tons of and am always happy to be empowered with more of. It also has been used as a protective barrier and can be shaped into a broom to sweep negative influences away.

Gorse represents what you’ve been looking for is right around the corner, to keep pursuing goals because they are within your reach, and helps to figure out the direction of your journey to the destinations intended. Magickally it speaks to your spiritual journey, especially if asked to take the role of a leader, providing you with an abundance of gifts to share with others.

It says to you, “the time is now”.

Sometimes called Furze: Onn (Uhn) symbolizes knowledge of poetry and wisdom/foolishness. Ohn/Eloquence. Furze is popular in pagan fertility rites, blooms throughout year, is plentiful in pollen and nectar, and smells of honey. The flowers are visited by the first Bees of the season and the bruised shoots provide food for the horses. Rabbits eat Gorse/Furze and are protected by the thorns. In spring, Furze is set afire to burn away the gold growth and make room for the new. Furze symbolizes a gathering together and a skill at collecting elements needed for a goal. Also signifies information that could change your life.

So Furze is the gathering together of sweetness in your life.  The things you value. A time to get busy like the Bees. There’s those Bees again. 🙂

Physical symbolism: Your search is over. You will find what you are seeking. Continue towards your goal.

Mental symbolism: Share your knowledge, as the Bee shares pollen and nectar gathered from the Furze.

Spiritual symbolism: There is an abundance of blessings in your spiritual voyage, so do not hoard them all to yourself. Share with others, you will be rewarded.

I SO LOVE the symbolism that is embodied in this sacred design and it’s all created within a swirling vortex of Cosmic Stars – the totality of which is one magickal portal. And since integrating this creation into my life, I have very much been experiencing all that it was meant to bring more of into my life and I definitely can also see how I’ve but scratched the surface to where this portal leads. I’m in gratitude and honor of it and am welcoming the journey, where ever it takes me.

I love that I finished writing this post at 12:12 pm. 🙂

If you would like to partner in co-creating your own sacred visionary piece of artwork or tattoo design to embody the empowerment you desire, you can contact me at tania@spiritualskin.com.

There is currently a waiting list. You can easily make your deposit at the link provided to embark on this journey in partnership with me.

For more information about the process and pricing please visit: What is a Tattoo Design Consultation

To enjoy a visual journey of some of the sacred tattoo designs I’ve had the honor and privilege of co-creating, please visit: Spiritual Skin for my YouTube video.

Some people have preferred to read my book, Spiritual Skin ~ Sacred Tattoos: More than Skin Deep, especially if they are new to sacred tattoo designs, before embarking on this journey.

If you are drawn to learn more about sacred tattoos you can order a copy of the book here: Spiritual Skin

It is also available in Kindle format here: Spiritual Skin

You can also order your personal copy here: Signed and Inscribed Copy of Spiritual Skin 

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on April 25, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

