The Gift of Color Vision


As a visionary artist, I have always been passionately obsessed with color and when I paint, I am always exploring and playing with vibrant combinations that you don’t always see, but are the way I “feel” them to be.

I may not have “tetrachomacy” like this article shares about, but my inner vision seems to be similar to how this rare eye condition provides the ability to see hues that aren’t visible to everyone.

This is a very cool article and I love how Concetta Antico is harnessing her rare gift to help colorblind people by sharing ways to retrain the brain to support color perception in her art classes that she teaches.

Outside The Lines

There is a rare condition that’s not fatal, but many artists would kill to have it. It is called tetrachomacy. Its main symptom is near-superhuman vision.

Impressionist painter Concetta Antico has tetrachomacy. When she examines a leaf, she sees a “mosaic of color,” not just shades of green.

“Around the edge I’ll see orange or red or purple in the shadow; you might see dark green but I’ll see violet, turquoise, blue,” she says. In her line of work, this ‘disorder’ is a rare gift that produces extraordinary works of art.

Tetrachromats have more receptors in their eyes to absorb color, letting them see hues that are invisible to everyone else. The average person has three cones, or photoreceptor cells in the retina that control color vision and allow people to see up to a million colors. Tetrachromats have four cones, so they can detect nuances and dimensions of color…

View original post 469 more words

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on November 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Tania, I ran across a similar article on Concetta Antico about a month ago. I was fascinated, and my own “gift” to recognize important information and store it away for future reference — which came in real handy when I was a news reporter and editor 🙂 — told me to bookmark it. I realized when I first read it that it explains a lot about what is happening now. So many people these days talk about how much more vibrant the colors are these days, especially in Nature. I believe that, as our own DNA “upgrades”, what Concetta was born with is developing within all of us. I know that I see more nuance in color than I used to. Color seems more alive to me. We might not be to the level of Concetta yet, but we’re working on it. It’s not the color that is changing; it is we who are changing.

    • interesting you also had seen an article on concetta. synchronicity continually at work. i agree with your insights…things are indeed shifting due to the upgrades we are experiencing and the transmutation taking place. similar happens when people receive reiki initiation attunements as well…all their senses get a boost. so much is changing that i think goes unnoticed unless we slow down and take note. great insight. thank you for sharing.

  1. Pingback: The Gift of Color Vision | Tania Marie’s Blog | radupopescublog

Leave a Reply

