Spreading the Rabbit Love


One of the things I promised myself for this year was to shift my schedule so that I could do more personal things that are the essence of who I am and my passions, in addition to the things I share in love and service. So that means creating more and more efficiency in my life, restructuring, and streamlining.

And one of those essence passions of mine is rabbits – likely no surprise for anyone who knows me.

So it was important to me to be around them and BOTH give and receive love, magick, nurturing, and gifts from and to them.

Of course I do already have a sweet bunny love, Joy (I adopted her from Save A Bunny in the San Francisco Bay Area of Northern California), who is my heart and soul, and I energetically support rabbits, but I knew the time was now to do even more.

This ended up manifesting as offering my services in volunteer work at a local rabbit rescue, which I found just minutes from my house. And from that one choice, things are starting to take form in larger ways I hadn’t imagined. And yet as always, when we take one step in action, we are then shown more and doors and opportunities then present themselves in response to the energy put in motion and our willingness to take that action.

My volunteer work has started out as weekly helping to clean, feed, and spend time with all of the bunnies at The Bunny Bunch here in Fountain Valley and I have so enjoyed this and truly have such a smile on my face the entire time I am working (not feeling like it is work), as I talk with the bunnies that run around and nibble at my feet, as I tidy up their pens.

They all have unique personalities and of course there are those that I immediately create an extra special bond with, but they are all so, so very precious and beautiful little souls with a ton to give, teach, and infuse your life with.

A few have been adopted out since I’ve been helping out here, which is wonderful, but they will soon be replaced with more rabbits in need, as there are far too many to count of them.

sophia

Sophia

One of these souls that has touched my heart is this white beauty, Sophia. She was my first draw and of course it didn’t surprise me to learn that she was a lab rabbit before coming here to The Bunny Bunch, indicating my sense of her special needs. This saddens me, but when I am with her all I do is give her love and gentle nurturing to bring peace and healing to her heart.

What also saddens me to know is that most people don’t adopt white rabbits with red eyes, as Sophia is, which is just incredibly disheartening to me that there are these stereotypical judgments or ideas about them. Sophia has been at The Bunny Bunch for over a year awaiting a new home.

In my heart I’ve adopted her, carrying her image around on my cell phone wall paper to send her love and energy every time I use my phone.

arthur

Arthur

Another precious one is this little guy, Arthur – a Dwarf bunny. He is incredibly gentle and sweet. I think that speaks through even in his photo.

fuzzy bunnyAnd there are so many others, a few of which you see pictured in the photos here.

flemish

Giant Flemish

 

All of these lovelies, except the giant Flemish rabbits, are available for adoption at The Bunny Bunch. The Flemish are very gentle and sweet, which makes them wonderful teachers, adding valuable contribution to the classes taught at The Bunny Bunch.

 

The Bunny Bunch is a non-profit, no-kill rescue and education organization run entirely by volunteers with two locations in Southern California – Montclair (the main adoption/education center) and Fountain Valley.

nate

Sweet Nate who was adopted

It was established in 1984 by Caroline Charland to rescue rabbits in need that would otherwise be euthanized. They also help chincillas and guinea pigs. They have a classroom where they educate the public on rabbits and proper rabbit care and health and they hold a lot of events you can find at their website.

Unfortunately, I have discovered that my allergies to hay and urine mixed hay are making it not possible to work in the capacity that I am. At home with one bunny it isn’t an issue other than a quick one or two sneeze now and then that subsides immediately upon finishing clean up. However, working several hours of handling and breathing in the large concentrations of hay, has proven to be a challenge.

At first I was not going to worry about it because it was worth it to me to help out these little ones, even though my nose was running and I was sneezing nonstop. But the last time I was there, it continued and when I got home, I had a coughing fit the rest of the afternoon/evening, coughing up stuff.

So, it became apparent that wasn’t wise to continue.

But, as I shared, one thing leads to another and there are reasons things unfold that will help point you in the direction you are most meant for.

I had already been starting to discuss other possibilities with Caroline about areas I could help in. I feel that this is leading me to where my skills and gifts are best utilized, which may end up in a teaching role, helping with events, or even training to become an Adoption Manager.

I don’t know where I’ll land, but the journey is proving to be a rich process and I look forward to seeing what aligns when Caroline and I speak next.

And, because of my stepping into this part of my path more, through another synchronous chain of events (all happening at the same time), I was led to connect with Lejla Hadzimuratovic, the head of another large rabbit organization here in Los Angeles – Bunny World Foundation – that is opening more possibilities and connections.

In fact, tomorrow, I will be going to meet and bring home a sweet, special needs bunny that I will be fostering. If all goes well with integrating him into the household and connecting with the other fur babies, he may just find himself a forever home here and in my heart as well.

I will share that journey as it unfolds, as well as where this path leads.

In the meantime, if looking for a rabbit companion, please consider adopting a rabbit from your local shelter or rabbit rescue and receiving education on proper rabbit care. Rabbits are the third most euthanized animals. They are most often used in animal testing labs, are killed for fur, for meat, etc., and in general, most people simply don’t understand them or how to care for them.

If you’d like to help out, you could also become a foster mom, dad, or family to one of the rabbits in need. Look into your local rescues for more information.

Rabbits aren’t the only animals in need of this kind of support, but they may be the most misunderstood, in my opinion, of animal companions.

They make wonderful animal companions and can be litter box trained. There is no need or call to ever house your rabbit in a cage. You wouldn’t do it to your cat or dog, so why would you to your rabbit?

A large pen or protected hutch can be an option, yet they need time each day to exercise outside of the pen in a safe area or bunny-proofed room or space. They can also be free in your home, just as your other animals, with the proper rabbit proofing precautions. They should never be left alone with young children, other animals, or irresponsible individuals.

Don’t get a rabbit because they are cute and a cute idea for your children as an Easter gift. These rabbits usually find themselves in shelters when their “novelty” runs out.

Feeling eternally grateful for the gifts these magickal beings infuse my life and our Earth with, and sending love out to all souls in animal bodies ❤

 

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on January 24, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Sophia is wonderful! I’m glad that you work with love and joy.Is this the right spirit!!

  2. Reblogged this on Reiki Dawn and commented:
    My gear sweet friend Tania Marie posted a heartfelt and joyful experience that her love of bunnies is leading her on. Is tone who loves any animal can relate to her sharing. Thank you for the big warm smile in my liver Tania

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

    Yay, another bunny lover! I had an exquisite, magical familiar in bunny form for 7 years. Trinabinabunny, a minilop. She taught me so much about meditation, love, fun, speaking my mind, gentleness, softness… and I could go on and on. They are such special little animal people. I only wish they would live longer. Losing a familiar is so hard, but definitely worth it. One thing I would recommend for anyone thinking about a house bunny, is plastic conduit for all wires that she/he has access to. You can get it at Home Depot. They love to bite wire, and they can get electrocuted. I knew someone who lost their bunny that way. Thanks for reminding my of my beloved Trinabina.

    • aw, how sweet…thank you for sharing about your bunny love, Trinabina! i’ve had 3 bunnies myself…this new one coming into my life will be my fourth. i’ve had my current bunny for 6 years, but she is about 11 years old. and the new bunny coming is 9 years old. thank you for the good information on the wire protection. so important. much love to you.

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

    Wow! 11?! That’s pretty old. 9 is too. i had thought 6 or 7 was pretty average. Trina got a weird cancer in her abdomen that created a lot of fluid. Perhaps uterine. They say, you should always spay them. Do you agree?

    • it has been my understanding that yes they should all be spayed. mine all were/are. every rescue spays and neuters the rabbits immediately, or as soon as they are old enough.

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

        Good to know. Cuts down on uterine cancer, not to mention the birth control aspect. But…..baby bunnies! Nothing cuter. Or bunny yawns.

      • yes, exactly..that’s what i came to understand about the spaying helping with the uterine cancer tendency. baby bunnies are definitely the sweetest!! anything bunny is adorable, right? but there are so many bunnies out there needing homes in shelters that cutting down on babies is definitely good thing

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

        I totally agree.

Leave a Reply

