Listening to the Music in the Sunrise


Each morning when I rise, I immediately tend to the bunnies and clean up, taking the trash outside. And when I do, I spend some quiet, still moments watching the sunrise and looking at how my plants are doing that I’ve been growing from seed out front – sunflowers, moonflowers, malabar spinach, and wild flowers.

With the tropical weather we’ve been having the last couple of weeks I felt like I was somewhere else than I am, especially so when I saw all of these little ones gathered in the stillness of the morning on the milkweed flowers.

sunrise2

I was doing some research about them and found there to be different thoughts as to what to do or not about the presence of milkweed bugs. Since they do little damage and are only around for a short period of time (mid to late summer), living with them seems to be the most caring thing to do, realizing the natural life cycles of things and the bigger picture not for me to control. They’re considered more of a nuisance to some than a threat to the milkweed plants.

Since our milkweed plants have consistently been doing great, I see no harm in their presence. They are important in regulating populations of milkweed plants in the ecosystem and since they can tolerate the toxic compounds of the milkweed plant they have few predators. So unless you’re trying to raise a bunch of milkweed plants they don’t have a large, negative impact.

Their resiliency and ability to transmute toxic things into sustenance seems pretty potent symbolism to me.

sunriseRegardless of how others may see the milkweed bugs, I found myself sitting in stillness with them, listening to the music in the sunrise this morning.

Perhaps they were sharing their secrets of thriving, rather than merely surviving (a theme of late) and transmutation with someone who actually wanted to listen.

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on July 25, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’ve had a pair of milkweed plants on both sides of my porch for a month now and they are apart of my mornings to listen and greet the sun with the emanating from them and from within Love to this and Love to you always. ❤

  2. Love this photo ~ the colors are amazing. Did you notice the insect towards the right that is red and black? I love that you took the time to share this and love your insight about their appearance in your garden too! Everything has value if we take the time to notice it.
    Much Love and Gratitude to you and sweet little kisses for your bunny Loves. ❤

    • thank you suzanne! yes, i did 😉 so glad you feel the same as i that everything has meaning, purpose and value. it was truly a lovely moment to sit in stillness with them, as they not only were offering their message, but they too were listening to the music and appreciating it too! thank you for the love sent…we share warm hugs of love with you too ❤

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

    Cool bugs! They are cute. Do you get Monarchs on your milkweed?

  4. It is a symbiotic relationship….helpful bugs to growth of plants….ants do this with certain flowers…the flower provides food for the ants and then they in turn open the buds of the flowers

Leave a Reply

