Walking the Path of the Cosmic Serpent in Devils Garden


20160420_145841.jpgYesterday’s trail at Devils Garden held both beauty and challenge, as we traversed the 4.2 miles of duality and deeply rooted, collective symbolism.

I had no idea that I’d be holding so much energy for all who had been called to explore the same area and energies on this day, but it became clear to me on our return route back what the theme of this journey was – reflecting the shadow and misconceptions around it.

20160420_134308_resized.jpg

So much so, that by the time we reached the car at end of the hike, I was energetically exhausted, having challenge staying awake while driving us back, and then feeling the need for major recharge when we got home.

The day began with the warmest temperatures we’ve had in a while – mid 70’s – which meant I got to wear my hiking dress and not get layered up.

20160420_144305.jpg

So I put on my colorful dress I bought at a Himalayan shop in Sedona, grabbed my cowgirl hat, slipped on my favorite Chaco hiking sandals, and off we went.

This was the first day in a while that my “spiritual skin” of sacred tattoos was completely exposed, and how fitting that we were exploring Devils Garden – as I wear misunderstood symbols like the dragon and serpent, not to mention, in totality all of my dark, black, symbolic tattoos to many whose beliefs are rooted in ways different than my own, would connect to “evil”, dark, wrong, and yes, the Devil.

20160420_140559.jpg

I even had someone once a long time ago ask me about these symbols saying they were Illuminati connected and asked me about that and if I was connected.

My only response to them was, “Only you know the answer to that by looking inside your own heart.”

I had no need to defend or explain anything. One doesn’t when they embody the truth.

20160420_150032_resized.jpg

So on our hike, many eyes were upon me. I received several compliments from a few people, as well as shared smiles with a few passers-by that had a tattoo or two of their own.

But apparently there were other kinds of looks too, which Dave shared with me with giggles, as he said he finds it fun and fascinating to watch some people and how they will stare or react to me – most of them being middle to older aged people and couples that come from a different generational belief system that has been strongly conditioned and rooted beyond simply ideas – but rather a programming within their DNA they react from.

20160420_145154

And he too thought it was all compounded by the dress, sandals, cowgirl hat, AND tattoos, as no one else was dressed like that since most people have a “norm” way of dressing when hiking.

So it all created quite a looking glass, but was it “me” they saw, or something about themselves?

20160420_145550_resized.jpg

I explain this briefly in a very short video I felt inspired to do at our destination point on the hike – Double O Arch. I’ll share it after this post.

That felt like the perfect portal for this share, as it is an arch that has two O-shaped arches, one atop the other.

20160420_151942.jpg

To me, this felt like mirrors of duality that reveal and reflect your belief system and the hidden energies around your beliefs on the light and the dark.

And when one can face these truths, you can move on into integrating them, which is the shared bridge between the two O’s.

There is an extension to this hike that goes further to what is called Dark Angel.

We did not feel called to go.

Well, Dave asked if I wanted to, us both feeling complete at Double O, and I said, “there’s no need to go there, as I’m holding the energy of Dark Angel right here.”

20160420_151910_resized.jpg

He laughed.

Interestingly, when we arrived at Double O, people dispersed, allowing me time to sit alone within the smaller portal, as Dave felt called to ascend further up the canyon and sit atop a rock there overlooking the view of the Double O and beyond, which is how he captured photos of me down below.

20160420_150058.jpg

While he was there, and I was at the portal we would periodically hear screeches from what sounded either like a hawk, falcon, or eagle that echoed through the canyon.

We met some very nice people along the hike there and back, and exchanged some words, as well as took photos for them.

Saw many lizards and ravens – one that cawed at us from across a canyon.

20160420_134733_resized.jpg20160420_135326_resized20160420_135238_resized

The trail first led us to several cool arches – Tunnel Arch, which had two deep arches, Pine Tree Arch, which as you can tell by the name had a pine tree growing from center (I took two photos here, loving the symbolism of a little girl that was in the foreground on one reminding me of my own inner child and a book I’m reading where the woman embodies the medicine of a Native American Indian girl named Little Black Wold Dancing), Landscape Arch, which was huge and looked like a frame to a landscape painting, Black Arch, and several unnamed arches.

20160420_14130920160420_153515_resized20160420_142138.jpg

Most people only go to Landscape Arch, as the trail then becomes more challenging to reach Double O, other arches, and Dark Angel.

You can either do the primitive trail to get there, which is unmarked and longer, or climb over sandstone slabs and fins with narrow ledges and exposure to heights on another trail – a bit scary for those with fear of heights.

20160420_14372220160420_152136

I, once again, got to face that one head on and did.

20160420_144639.jpg20160420_144722_resized

I thought about the symbolism of this challenging trail to Double O and Dark Angel and how only those ready and/or willing to journey into these energies and reflections, would pass through to receive the messages awaiting them there.

20160420_142224_resized20160420_142452_resized20160420_143701_resized.jpg

But it wasn’t until I return back, as mentioned earlier, that things really sunk in as to the energy I was integrating myself, as well as holding in mirror for others. I believe my time sitting in the portal of Double O revealed this to me.

20160420_145923_resized.jpg

And on our return, I had this thought go through me about the connection of Devils Garden and my serpent tattoo, thinking on the irony of this and all the misconceptions around it.

I kid you not, the second after I said this to myself and integrated the depth of meaning, both Dave and I heard a loud, long hiss come from the bushes we had just passed.

20160420_145214(0).jpg

He stopped in his tracks and we both looked at each other and said, “what was that?”

We both agreed it sounded like a large snake, like a rattlesnake before they are about to strike.

Dave decided to explore the whole area, but found nothing.

There was no snake in the flesh.

But it was unmistakably a snake.

I said, it was the cosmic serpent and shared with Dave what I had just been processing and receiving right before the hiss.

Talk about powerful messages.

20160420_152238_resized.jpg

I continued to further deepen into the energy here for me to process and embody more fully.

And found myself in deep dreams last night wandering through rock garden portals.

I’m feeling much more balanced again today, but still recharging from all that I was mirroring, integrating, and holding.

It made me go quiet and perhaps might lead to taking a mini break while things continue to integrate and renew.

So, just in case you don’t hear a share from me for a day or two, you’ll know why.

20160420_140523_resized

We embody both the light and the dark, but it is not seen in these limiting terms that words define and judge them by.

20160421_064017_resized.jpg

It is a melding reflection of both and beyond, where the creative impetus of Cosmic alchemy can be harnessed by turning everything inside out within the vortex of you.

moon

(BTW, right after I posted this blog, I saw the word count and thought it would be fun to add it here: 1313)

 

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on April 21, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What an amazing place, what an amazing post. I’m interested in your totoo’s and I would love to ask you about them somtime, thuer meanings and origins to you. I would make what you have written even clearer to know your spiritual thinking.

  2. Your pictures are like a painting thank you…very spiritual

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

    Wow, amazing journey, pictures and words. Many big journeys day after day. It’s a lot to contain.
    Love,
    Mary

  1. Pingback: Being a Truth Mirror | Tania Marie's Blog

Leave a Reply

