Riding Like a Rabbit, Climbing Like a Mountain Goat ~ Getting My Mountain Biking On In Moab


mountain biking2.jpgMoab is considered the capitol and home of the best mountain biking in the world, so we of course were destined to get our mountain biking on while here. Yesterday was our first intro, but we’ll be back for more indeed in the coming days.

mountain biking.jpg

I am just a beginner with mountain biking, doing my first official trails in Sedona back in March, but yesterday I was definitely at my best and did have to agree the trail we did was by far my favorite – not that I have many to compare it with lol! But I do know what I like and don’t like and thought the trail was a good mix of everything.

mountain biking4.jpg

I bounded back more quickly than I thought (hence sharing this post today) from all of the energy processing at Devils Garden, which was evident, and likely supported, by our day of mountain biking yesterday.

I integrated and channeled all of that powerful energy through the perfect vehicle – me on a mountain bike taking on the rugged raw land before me.

We decided on Dead Horse Point (wasn’t liking the name so much, nor why it was called that), but the East side trails there were the perfect blend of advanced beginner to intermediate, with several bigger challenges here and there to invite your growth.

mountain biking3.jpg

Moab is known to have the most interesting and unique terrain of any mountain biking destination. Slickrock trails are what draws most advanced and technical riders here, where you can ride on smooth rock and feel like you’re on the moon.

mountain biking5.jpg

The trails we did yesterday gave us a taste of that with a few areas mixed in that took us over the slickrock and it WAS like riding on the moon.

20160421_161932.jpg20160421_163227.jpg

We did a little over 9 miles of riding on a big loop that included several trails marked as beginner to intermediate and had a lot of variety in terrain with a bit smoother snake-winding trails we whizzed through, rocky and branch trails, deeper sand areas, slickrock, and alligator back areas of rocks to climb and descend.

20160421_161212.jpg

The climbing is fairly gentle over most of it, but there are a few spots with steeper 20-30 foot climbs. There were also a few spots with pretty gnarly rock descents and climbs, so basically you can just dismount there and get right back on if it feels too challenging.

20160421_161214.jpg

Intense, but fun! And always keeping you on your toes, present, intuitively surveying the trail to choose your path, and maintaining stable, centered focus.

20160421_161035.jpg

Trails in the loop include Intrepid Trail, Big Chief, and Great Pyramid and you get to ride along beautiful vistas, one after another.

20160421_151438_resized.jpg20160421_160229_resized.jpg20160421_160306_resized.jpg20160421_165430.jpg

You are also offered bike stops to take in the views, and don’t have to worry about being at the edge of a drop off, as the trail is just in enough where you can enjoy it and not worry.

20160421_160317.jpg

Anyway, I really enjoyed it and was at my all time best ever…I did some mean mountain biking!

20160421_161216.jpg

I don’t know if it was the energy I integrated the day before at Devils Garden, all the crown chakra freshness including my hair trim and french braid I’d just gotten at Atomic Hair and my new aqua mountain biking helmet we picked up right before, me getting my Fire Faery on and harnessing that dare devil tomboy, or that I was embodying the rabbit essence that has been with me of agility and spontaneous decisive movement led by intuition…but I was feeling strong and courageous.

20160421_153302_resized.jpg20160421_150336_resized.jpg20160421_172052_resized

Synchronously we kept seeing rabbits along the way and right near the end the Jackrabbit of all Jackrabbits – the biggest Jackrabbit we have ever seen sat under a tree beckoning us to stop and connect, which we did for several minutes.

20160421_170645_resized.jpg

He was calm, but alert, and never left while we were there. It was we who left him, somewhat reluctantly on my part I’ll say.

20160421_170619_resized.jpg

He was gigantic (hard to tell in the photos, but he was triple the size of any I’ve seen) and seeing him felt like a big affirmation of things for me and a sign of the journey ahead.

20160421_170601_resized.jpg

The ride was much fun, including the challenges. I even surprised myself, but learned how to face things head on, centered, stable, balanced, forward moving, and with complete trust and belief in myself to defy what seemed impossible in front of me.

20160421_171136.jpg

Dave had fun capturing photos of me – I laughed that he was always getting me working those uphill climbs or in less challenged areas and not when I was whizzing along or doing crazy feats, but was grateful he did to remind me of the journey and what I’d accomplished.

20160421_162812_resized.jpg

He was quite proud of me and kept saying how well I did…I actually was never much behind him except when climbing uphill steadily – in those cases like a determined tortoise.

Although there were several times I decided to tackle those jagged uphills like a bounding mountain goat – in those moments riding his tail.

20160421_155644.jpg

I felt renewed and stronger and being on the brink of the Full Moon in Scorpio that was in its glory last night and due to all the deep work that had been illuminated, I definitely felt like this energy was being harnessed.

And being with the land, gliding my circular spiral wheels over life’s journey of ups and downs, fears and weeeeee’s, all reminded me of the daily experiences we face and how we can learn to ride with them, be thrown off balance, and gather ourselves back up and refocus once again.

It has all brought me closer to knowing where my power is, how to face and walk through fears, and how to use the integrity and magick within to create the experiences and beauty I desire.

Things do not have to control and own us. We are the captains of our own cosmic ships.

Wishing everyone a beautiful Earth Day, as you ponder the ways in which you dance with our Mother land and let her bring out the best within you.

I love our beautiful Terra and her deep mysteries that challenge and inspire my divinity within.

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on April 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Too much fun…can’t take it 😉

  2. Great scenery and great ride. Love the new ‘do, too! ❤

  3. “We are now in the mountains and they are in us, kindling enthusiasm, making every nerve quiver, filling every pore and cell of us.

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

    Wow! Wonderful! Happy Earth Day!

Leave a Reply

