Canyons of the Ancients


20160504_151254_resized.jpg

There was something powerfully activated yesterday from our intuitive and rewarding exploration of another incredible area – Canyons of the Ancients National Monument – so much so that the top of my crown chakra felt like it was splitting open. This area is like an “outdoor museum”, but also like a treasure hunt, as most of the archaeological sites are not apparent to the untrained eye and precise locations aren’t publicized.

20160504_151231_resized.jpg

Canyons of the Ancients contains more than 6000 Anasazi – Ancestral Puebloan and other Native American cultures – archaeological sites and in some place, up to 100 per square mile.

20160504_141827_resized.jpg

They recommend stopping first at the Anasazi Heritage Center before beginning your exploration, to get maps, guidebooks, orientation, etc., as although the Monument is open to explore on foot, there are few and limited marked foot trails and no indication of where things are or what to look for.

20160504_141804_resized.jpg

When you arrive there is just a small sign that says Canyons of the Ancients and has a general trail map of the area to choose from.

20160504_141917_resized.jpg

As I said, we decided to just explore without info and let ourselves be guided. We had a window of about 2 hours, so we also wanted to maximize that.

20160504_142249_resized.jpg20160504_142434_resized.jpg

It proved very rewarding, as the trail routes we took, our spidey senses, and knowing what to look for, since we’ve been exploring so many ruins already, led us to find quite a few sites.

20160504_154132_resized.jpg

It’s a really remarkable area and less traveled, as we found only about 4 cars parked at the main trailhead, but only came across a guide and one person with him on mules and two mountain bikers, briefly at onset and end.

20160504_142531_resized.jpg

The rest of the time we were completely on our own in this vast sacred area walking in the ancient footsteps of these people and exploring their dwellings and temples.

20160504_143038_resized.jpg

I decided to stay more grounded and let Dave do the climbing and upper explorations, while I scanned the cliffs for more sites and directed him to things I could see to go check out from his higher ground.

dave climbing.jpgdave.jpgdave2.jpgdave3.jpg

We found cliff dwellings, what appeared to be walls of surface dwellings on the tops of the rocks, and temple sites.

20160504_142740_resized.jpg20160504_142850_resized.jpg

We also found the perimeter walls of lower dwellings on the ground below the cliff dwellings.

20160504_143544_resized.jpglizard

This seemed to be quite the location for so many communities, one after another.

20160504_144526_resized.jpg20160504_151109_resized.jpg

While Dave would climb up, I’d explore below and many lizards came to greet me.

lizard.jpg

We also had a raven flying into the large cliff dwelling we found, as we were leaving it, and when we came to this most intact dwelling, hummingbird appeared.

I heard a very loud buzzing and felt chills of energy around me, realizing then there was a hummingbird buzzing above my head and circling me.

Then it flew off in the direction of the cliff dwelling.

Right after exploring, we stopped on a nearby rock under the shade of a tree with view of that site, to drink some water and have a snack and two hummingbirds found us. They came buzzing again around us and landing in the tree’s branches above us. They were very intent on finding us and making sure we knew they were there.

The ancient ones were definitely welcoming us. It reminded me of when we were in Peru and arriving at the Sun Temple when a hummingbird appeared to welcome us.

Can you find me in this panoramic shot on the right looking out at the cliff dwelling ruins lining the inside and tops of the cliffs at center?

20160504_152550.jpg

We really enjoyed our intuitive expedition, not knowing what to expect or what we’d find, but it was perfect. And being that we but scratched the surface of all that is there, we feel we will likely return in the days remaining.

The next time we’ll stop at the Anasazi Heritage Center first since we’ll have more time and it is Southwest Colorado’s premier archaeological museum of the Anasazi and has a ton of things to see and learn about, as well as will provide information on more things we may want to explore at Canyons of the Ancients.

If you have the time and can do both exploration on your own and go to the Center, I’d recommend doing so, as it will give your intuition, presence, and observational skills a good exercise before getting info. My guess is you’ll still be using some tracking and other skills even with info, as nothing is marked except the main trail heads.

As I mentioned at the start, something took place, as when we arrived back home the very top center of my crown chakra started aching.

I don’t get migraines and rarely ever get head aches…usually it’s an energy thing if I feel something.

But OMGoodness did my head hurt and would worsen no matter what I did. I even laid down for a bit and it just increased. I drank water to make sure I was hydrated and it increased. It was literally like my head was being knocked open with a sledge hammer right at center.

I tried Reiki and it increased.

Dave was sitting outside reading and I went to sit with him and told him that I felt like something was happening from the energies. My crown was expanding, shifting, and/or opening.

I told him that I was feeling a shift literally inside tear me open and it was making me very emotional and wanting to cry – and did – and it was not due to the pain, but an activation.

He asked if I wanted him to do Reiki on my crown and I said yes, so he did, as I closed my eyes and tears ran down my face and my legs started shaking, which happens  – the shaking that is – when I’m going through something like a kundalini experience, but for me this energy is coming down through the crown now and not up – mirroring what the channeler/reader in Sedona has told me the last two times I visited him there that this would be my new experience from now on of things channeling down through me, not up.

And while I sat there in pain, tears of opening, and shaking in my legs, we heard what sounded like owl hoots in the tree in front of us and I caught glimpse of a bird moving on the branches…then two.

They sounded just like an owl, but as they moved more I saw that they were Mourning Doves cooing in a way that sounded incredibly like hoots.

Their presence seemed symbolic bringing the deepest kind of peace, promise, and purification.

Mourning Doves help us to release any deep traumas stored in the cellular memory, which can be assisted by sound channeling through your voice and body. In this way they are also helping to clear and cleanse so that renewal can take place.

Their melancholy coos remind me of Celtic keening and similar to the sound healing and mourning I shared in my video.

They are also connected to the transitional times of the day’s cycle, as in morning and night – we heard them at nearly 8pm – times when veils between physical and spiritual worlds become thinner. And so they are messengers from other worlds and can help to reveal the hidden energies and provide calming peace and hope with the process.

They seemed to be, for me, helping me to peacefully embrace this shift taking place and to “be” with the growing pains and opening, breathing into them rather than allowing the emotional cleansing to cause anxiety in any way, as it felt at first to be cropping up as, along with frustration and more.

After seeing them, Dave giving me Reiki, and brushing my tears from my cheeks I felt a lot better, but it was first by going through a process of it increasingly getting worse – my crown hurt SO much.

I was then able to go back inside and shower, as well as bathe Cosmo and with the physical cleansing things continued to balance out.

tania.jpg

I knew another big change was upon me and I’d be implementing some more major decisions that feel necessary at this time in my life – crucial and timely.

I’m sitting with it for now, but will share more when it settles completely in body.

(Also feeling significant to add, today 5/5, would have been Gaia (my Russian Tortoise’s) 13th birthday and it was also the day that Nestor’s ashes came home to me)

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, Intuitive Energy Guide, Sound Channeler, Visionary Artist, and Author. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania inspires people globally to embody their essence, access creative empowerment, expand into more conscious awareness, and to harness their magick and imagination to create alchemy for living in harmony.

Posted on May 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I believe you were there in another lifetime…you were reaching inside that well of knowing and releasing the sadness of leaving it….it is that land you are attached to among your tribe

  2. Really beautiful location! Somewhere I would definitely love exploring!

  3. Wow, Tania! Sorry it had to hurt so much, but what a cool thing!
    Those rock people and caves seem really powerful. A lot of energy to assist what you are going through.
    Much love,
    Mary

    • thanks! yeah it was pretty crazy intense! seems like an opening and recalibration is taking place. luckily it subsided and haven’t had pain since. they definitely feel to be bringing deeper and deeper in a way i guess that pushes you through the other side and flips things around. lol!seems there will be a lot more still to come since this journey isn’t ending any time soon. 🙂 thank you for sending your love ❤ love you much!

Leave a Reply

