Comfrey Poultices – Bone Mending Magick!


Comfrey

Not many know that I just recently fractured my left foot – a spiral fracture of the metatarsal bone to be exact – two Saturdays ago via a silly fall from atop my stool in my office, as I was reaching in my storage shelves to find my satin emerald table cloth for last Saturday’s art opening event I had. I guess I took that good luck phrase people say to you, “break a leg,” a little too seriously.

Everything happens for a reason and one of the message I got was that I needed to slow down and that change was going to shatteringly hit my life in a big way! Oh boy!

My intuition told me that it was a fracture and that it would need to just heal on its own, but at the prompting of loved ones, five days after the fall, I went to see an orthopedic doctor to get it checked out. They were worried since it was hugely swollen and bruised and didn’t want permanent damage done. Gotta love peeps for caring!

In the meantime, the lovely Laura Bruno, whom I’d shared the news with, since she’s my dear friend, had mentioned looking up information on comfrey poultices to see what I could find and to use my own guidance and judgment on its use, forewarning only to use it “externally” for short periods if I did, as it can be toxic to the liver. But she remembered it being called “knitbone.”

So I did look it up and did some research including information on how to make my own comfrey poultices and in the interim I stayed off my foot (hopping around at first, then picked up crutches at the local pharmacy) while I applied my comfrey magickal potions all day long for the next 4 days, starting Sunday after the fall on Saturday.

I read it was good both fresh and dried so after calling to find fresh comfrey, to no avail, I was lucky to have one store that carried it dried. Mixing it with my ionized/alkaline water and a little flour to create a paste, I spread the comfrey poultices on cotton rags and folded them into  squares. I put a freshly made one on my foot where I knew the fracture was and wrapped it in bandages to hold it in place. I then took the remaining 3 and put them in a ziploc bag with parchment paper inbetween, in the freezer to use in the days following.

When I visited the doctor last Thursday he confirmed my suspicions and basically said the fracture would have to heal itself. I saw the x-rays he took and he showed me how my bone was perfectly straight and aligned with a line through it. I believe the comfrey poultices had already worked their magick, as I had wacked the heck out of my foot with all my weight on the wood floor when I came crashing down off the stool. One good thing came of the doctor visit, which I try to avoid unless absolutely necessary, was getting this very funny black hard shoe I like to call my Frankenfoot because it makes me look like and walk like Frankenstein! LOL! The doctor said I could put pressure on my foot and to use my pain as a gauge, as doing so actually induces healing. My sweet friend and rock support system through all of this and then some, Allison Jacobson, had confirmed this when she researched my injury and read many people talking about how some tried not putting any pressure on it and some did and those that did actually had the best healing.

Until then I’d completely stayed off my foot and had been applying the comfrey every day, while using my crutches. But upon return home I did away with my crutches and started trying out my foot, finding I could actually put pressure on it and I wasn’t having pains by just mindfully shifting weight a bit and with the use of my new Frankenfoot I was Frankensteining around the house! Yay!! Mobility again! Really makes you grateful for what you have! My foot immediately started decreasing the huge swelling that I had and now my foot only has a tiny bit of swelling, but is getting close to normal. It still has the bruising a lot, but bruising takes a bit more time for my body regardless.

Today I just made the last batch of my comfrey poultices to utilize for the next four days and I feel I’ll be on my way after this. It has only been a week and a half and it’s already done some efficient healing! The doctor told me to expect 4-6 weeks, but between my comfrey and Reiki, and all the lovely healing support from great friends like Laura and Allison, that time will likely be cut in half or 2/3.

I’ve been able to just walk on my own now with this shoe, but mostly because I wanted to ease into things, but it feels like my foot would be fine without the shoe (as now and then I do walk without it at home) and I know shortly I’ll be able to just walk gingerly on my own. No marathon runs or strenuous hikes and biking, but definitely will be walking normally in no time.

Comfrey is one powerful healing plant! It’s also known as the miracle herb and forgotten herb. Well….it won’t be forgotten in my book!

Here’s some info on Comfrey:

Known for centuries as a priceless herb for wounds, sprains, bruises, and broken bones in both people and animals, comfrey (genus name, Symphytum –  meaning to “unite or knit together,” leaves and roots can be used both fresh or dried. The name com-firma means, simply, “knitting of bones,” which is why comfrey is often called knitbone and healing herb.

Comfrey’s success as a healing agent is due to a special substance it contains called allantoin—a substance that speeds the production of new cells and aids in wound granulation (healing) – basically a cell proliferative. This means it makes cells grow faster, which is one of the reasons why comfrey-treated bones knit so fast, wounds mend quickly, and burns heal with such little to no scarring.

Allantoin is the same substance found in the placenta of a pregnant mother, which supports rapid baby growth and is also in the mother’s milk in abundance and then decreases as the child grows.

Comfrey is rich in vitamin B12, which is important to vegans and vegetarians, as very few plants have B12, and is also rich in vitamins B1, B2, C, E, A, pantothenic acid plus calcium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

Good thing is that you can receive the greatest medicinal benefits equally so without ingesting it, so this way you can avoid the toxicity it can cause. But used externally for short periods comfrey is safe, even for babies. When used as a wound dressing its magick shines through and can really work wonders.

Like with anything consult an expert or doctor when seriously injured, but even doctor’s admit to comfrey’s power to speed the healing process. So it’s a great, complimentary support to any treatment you need, desire or choose. So if you find yourself with an unexpected wound, cut, sprain, burn, or break, you can turn to comfrey for comfort. Comfy Comfrey to the rescue!!!

Again, remember never to ingest comfrey and to only use it topically. Consult a professional when in doubt. I offer no medical advice. I only offer my personal experience. And after having had 2 other fractures, of which I never used comfrey poultices with, I can say that it DOES make a huge difference in the efficient healing process.

Read more about comfrey here and  about how “Modern science confirms that comfrey can influence the course of bone ailments.” Yes, it’s not just a witch’s magickal brew!  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comfrey

Here is one version of how you can make your comfrey poultices:

About Tania Marie's Blog

Tania Marie is an international Reiki Master Teacher, sacred tattoo designer, visionary, inspirational workshop leader, and author of Spiritual Skin. With over 25 years’ experience in healing arts and metaphysical studies, Tania supports people globally to find inspiration and empowerment, and to live with more conscious awareness.

Posted on February 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Thank you!!! I recently did the same thing to my foot last Sunday. My friend who is a massage therapist brought me some comfry last night! I am preparing it now!

  2. Itry to sourde it out here in the Phi;ipppines , but I can find it. My wife has been suffering for ostheo arhtritis but I can’t bring her to a doctor because of lack of money . Can you he me get a few twigs for her please . My address is
    77 kappiville , Katihan , Poblacion < Muntinlupa City , Philippines Thank you very much . .

  3. Great article Tania, i recently fractured my right foot. Your article gives me hope. Take good care, Fahad

  4. Hi Tania i broke my leg and still the healing process can you please inbox me on where i can buy comfrey, i need it thanks

    • i’m sorry to hear about your leg. i am able to get it at my local natural market or grocery store. i don’t know where you live and what kind of stores you have available, but you can try your natural markets, herbalists, or perhaps just order it online by googling. wishing you speedy recovery and healing.

  5. I have almost the same injury at the moment. Did you keep your foot wrapped and splinted most of the time? Didn’t the doctor want to put you in a cast? Thanks for sharing, very informative information!

    • I would suggest you follow the instructions your doctor shares accordingly with your injury. I am no doctor and everyone is different. The poultices will benefit your healing nonetheless. As my post shares, I went to an Orthopedic Doctor merely to get x-rays and check on the damage. He confirmed what I felt, that it was fractured, but basically there was nothing to do, but let it heal – no cast or splint. The crack was aligned, so it was just about it needing to mend, so the comfrey was a perfect compliment to assist this. I had fractured the metatarsal bone in my left foot.

  6. How long did you leave the poultice on for? My husband has injured his arm and I want to go as natural as possible and wonder if this can help him. Could you please email with your reply too, I don’t always get blog replies. Thank you.

    • hi sandra, as shared in my post, i applied my comfrey all day long for 4 days. it can likely be done for longer. good to do immediately. everyone will experience different results, as with anything, but as you shared…any natural ways to assist and support the healing process are a good compliment to the healing. i’m not a doctor and so if your husband has broken something and injured himself, it is still best to see a doctor to find out the extent of the injuries and then make decisions based on the recommendations they make. wishing your husband healing energy for quick recovery.

  7. An invaluable axiom to apply here. Correlation does not dictate causation. It is possible there was some effect of the comfrey poultice on your healing. I am in favor of herbal interventions that work myself. However, be careful to put so much faith in something like a comfrey poultice healing your bone when you were also getting crutches at the same time you started the comfrey. The rest among other things could truly be what healed your bone. So, without an objective and repeated process for determining what heals bones all should be carefully skeptical and looking for legitimate research without anecdotal support only that proves out causation or lack of.

  1. Pingback: Unseen Toxins: What’s Hidden Inside our Plants? | Ithaca College Permaculture Garden

  2. Pingback: Harvesting Comfrey - Page 2

  3. Pingback: Opps - Broke me Leg - Page 9

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,698 other followers

